Dr. Sinclair claims he reversed his Horvath clock by 29 years!

Go to 8:45 in this video.   Said his biological clock was 60 and he reduced it to 31 by changing his life style.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QRt7LjqJ45k&t=8m45s

Either he is lying or he is doing something he is not telling us.

22replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
  • I am no scientist and I am not sure what to make of these " biological age tests ".

Being a simple man I be convinced as soon as I SEE people in their 50s looking 20s :) 

Sinclair looks great but lets be honest. Nothing like a 29 year old.

• Peter North Sorry...I was going to say 31. All the same.

• JGC
    • Retired Professor of Physics
    • JGC
    • 3 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

I just watched the video.  David Sinclair did NOT say that he had reprogrammed his own epigenetic clock from 60 to 31 years.  That was his example of what might be accomplished sometime in the future.  Further, Sinclair himself is only 50, not 60.

What he did accomplish was to use a CRISPR-modified AAV (adeno-associated virus) to implant the DNA coding for three of the Yamanaka factors into the eye cells of old mice with failing vision.  This restored the deteriorated vision of the old mice and reset the epigenetic clocks of their eye cells.  The eye is a relatively closed system, so they could restrict the AAV range by direct injection into the eyeball.  Sinclair said that his lab is presently attempting to do such AAV-delivered reprogramming for the whole mouse.